Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685–1750)

Concerto, f BWV 1056

Concerto for solo instrument(s) and accompaniment

harpsichord concertato, violin I, violin II, viola, basso continuo
Probably the first and last movements are based on a lost concerto for violin in g minor, perhaps the last movement was borrowed from a concerto for oboe, too (s. Haynes);
the second movement and the Sinfonia of BWV 156 were rather based on the 2nd movement of a lost concert for oboe in d minor, the 1st and last movement of which were probabaly reused in BWV 1059 (s. Rifkin). Lit.: Siegele K, p. 128ff.; B. Haynes, in: BJ 1992, p. 23ff.; J. Rifkin, in: BJ 178, p. 140ff.
NBA VII/4, S. 197 (Werner Breig, 1999) – Critical report (2001), S. 15, 146
A-GÖ Mus. Ms. 4311
D-B Bach P 234 [Original source]
D-B Bach P 239, Faszikel 1
D-B Bach P 300, Faszikel 4
D-DS Mus. ms. 531
I-Vc Torrefranca Ms.A. 124
Static URL [XML] [MEI] [JSON-LD]
Last changed
2018-09-20 : 02:23:43