Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685–1750)

"Concerto" (beginning of a cantata, D) BWV Anh. 198 / Anh. I 19‑>; BC A 182; BWV 149/1a [1998]

Sacred cantata (Michaelmas [29 September])

B solo, S, A, T, B, trumpet I, trumpet II, trumpet III, timpani, oboe I, oboe II, violin I, violin II, viola, basso continuo
Apart from 14 bars of the first movement (title: "Concerto") the music is lost; the libretto ist unknown;
the first word of the beginning was "Man" (compare BWV 149 "Man singet mit Freunden vom Sieg"); because of that M. Helms assumed that this dismissed movement was planned as a new movement for BWV 149; the reason why it was not finished is unknwon, instead of this movement Bach used the final choir of BWV 208 ("Jagdkantate") as first movement of BWV 149; Lit.: Spitta II, p. 277.
NBA I/40 und I/30, -- (Werner Neumann (I/40); Marianne Helms (I/30), I/40: 1969; I/30: 1973) – Critical report (I/40: 1970; I/30: 1974), I/40, S. 98; I/30, S. 112
D-B Bach P 175 [Original source]
Static URL [XML] [MEI] [JSON-LD]
Last changed
2018-07-07 : 06:14:55